Economic Community of West African States

Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a 15-member regional group with a mandate of promoting economic integration in all fields of activity of the constituting countries.

Member countries making up ECOWAS are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’ Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.

ECOWAS has been involved in the groundwater component of the Transboundary Water Assessment Programme (TWAP), a project that involved the assessment of 199 transboundary aquifers and 43 Small Island Developing States.